Let’s Lose The Stigma Of Therapy

Before I decided to write fiction full-time, I was a therapist for 25 years. With my patients, I didn’t use scalpels or imaging, stethoscopes or bandages. Sometimes medications were helpful, but my primary tool was the spoken word.

In my office with clients, I used language to create a treatment. I chose my words with care, hoping to start a chain reaction which began with curiosity, then led to alternative ways of processing thoughts and feelings, and finally to the potential for different life choices. Words became catalysts for change.

As a therapist then and a novelist now, I’ve chosen careers based on language – first the spoken word and now the written word. With my second novel, my two careers collided. Tightwire is a fictionalized version of my first year of training to become a therapist. The story follows the rookie year of a psych intern (Caroline Black, from my first novel, Hollywood High: Achieve The Honorable), as she works with her first patient – a stormy, seductive, feisty young man who challenges her at every turn. The therapist, the patient and the training program are all entirely fictionalized.

Although fiction, the story’s foundation is “real” — how it feels to be new to the field – what went through my mind as I scrambled to figure it out – the exhilaration of a great session — the immense talent of the teachers who showed me the field – my love for the work. As I wrote, I was careful NOT to use any pieces from my sessions as a therapist, because that will always belong to the patients. The only pieces lifted from actual psychotherapy sessions were taken from my own experience as a patient, working with a gifted therapist.

I hope Tightwire encourages people to let go of the stigma often attached to psychotherapy. The novel describes a treatment in detail, a story of hope – hard work for sure, but nothing bizarre or weird. If therapy is done well, if the match between the patient and the therapist is strong, then words become powerful, productive tools. Together, the therapist and client create a unique path to discovery, insight and healing.

Let’s lose the stigma.

____

Amy Kaufman Burk is a novelist, blogger and mother of three grown children. Amy wrote her first novel, Hollywood High: Achieve The Honorable, in reaction to seeing gay students bullied in high school. Her second novel, Tightwire, follows a rookie psych intern through her first year of training. Amy blogs on a variety of subjects including parenting, LGBTQ+ ally support, gender equality and a Rolling Stones concert. She also collaborates with educators who include her books in their curriculum. 

Amy’s Author Page On Amazon

https://www.amazon.com/Amy-Kaufman-Burk/e/B00R0S66Y4

Leave a comment

Filed under mental health, psychological, psychology, stigma, therapy

Leave a Reply

